HNRK Coverage Corner
Answering a certified question from the Ninth Circuit, the Arizona Supreme Court recently clarified that fortuity under Arizona law turns on the insured’s subjective knowledge when coverage attached, not on whether a loss was reasonably foreseeable. In Industrial Park Center, LLC v. Great Northern Insurance Company, the Court adopted a subjective standard of fortuity, distinguishing an objectively foreseeable risk from a loss-causing event the insured actually knew “had already occurred, was already in progress, or was certain to occur.” Following that decision, the Ninth Circuit vacated the district court’s summary judgment rulings and remanded the coverage dispute for further proceedings.
Background
Industrial Park Center LLC d/b/a Mainspring Capital Group (“Mainspring”) owns a commercial building in Arizona insured under an all-risk property insurance policy issued by Great Northern Insurance Company (“Great Northern”). During the policy period, Mainspring discovered damage to the building’s structural integrity associated with a tenant’s routine practice of hosing down the foundation and exterior concrete staircase with fresh water throughout the day. Mainspring submitted a claim to Great Northern for the damage.
Great Northern initially denied the claim under the policy’s wear-and-tear and settling exclusions, attributing the damage to inadequate soil preparation and compaction, settlement, and long-term corrosion. On reconsideration, Great Northern maintained its denial based on the wear-and-tear exclusion.
The District Court Applies an Objective Foreseeability Test
Mainspring sued Great Northern in Arizona state court for breach of contract and bad faith. The case was subsequently removed to federal court based on diversity jurisdiction.
Both parties moved for summary judgment on the breach of contract claim, and Great Northern also sought summary judgment on bad faith. The district court granted summary judgment for Great Northern on both claims and denied Mainspring’s motion. The district court held that Mainspring failed to show that the loss was “fortuitous,” which is a condition of coverage under Arizona law for all insurance policies. The Arizona courts have not defined “fortuitous loss.” Applying an objective reasonable-foreseeability test adopted by the Ninth Circuit under Washinton law, the district court concluded that Mainspring’s loss was not fortuitous because the loss was reasonably foreseeable and almost certain to occur given the tenant’s longstanding business practices and Mainspring’s failure to take measures to prevent water damage.
Mainspring appealed.
On December 23, 2025, the Ninth Circuit certified the following question to the Arizona Supreme Court because Arizona appellate courts had not yet defined the parameters of fortuity:
Is damage to property a “fortuitous” loss when, based on the insured’s knowledge at the time the insurance policy issued, it was reasonably foreseeable that such damage was almost certain to occur if certain preventative measures were not taken?
The Arizona Supreme Court Adopts a Subjective Fortuity Standard
In Industrial Park Center, LLC v. Great Northern Insurance Company, 595 P.3d 119 (Ariz. 2026), the Arizona Supreme Court adopted the definition of a fortuitous event in the Restatement (First) of Contracts (the “Restatement”). The Restatement provides:
A fortuitous event within the meaning of the present and subsequent Sections is an event which so far as the parties to the contract are aware, is dependent on chance. It may be beyond the power of any human being to bring the event to pass; it may be within the control of third person; it may be a past event, as the loss of a vessel, provided that the fact is unknown to the parties. The event may be positive or negative—an occurrence or a failure to occur. But the fact that the time or amount of performance is dependent on fortuitous event does not make a promise aleatory.
The Court emphasized that this definition includes a subjective element: fortuity depends on the facts known to the insured. That approach is consistent with existing Arizona caselaw that applies a subjective standard, focusing on the insured’s state of mind, when determining other insurance coverage issues.
The Court rejected Great Northern’s argument that a subjective analysis would give insureds too much control. The Court reasoned that an insured’s awareness of a risk, no matter how substantial, does not equate to a certainty that the loss will occur. Further, the Court noted that insurers are not powerless in minimizing liability. They can assess the risk, decline coverage, and draft clear exclusions.
The Court also rejected Great Northern’s reliance on Ingenco Holdings, LLC v. Ace American Insurance Company, 921 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2019), which applied an objective foreseeability standard based on the Ninth Circuit’s prediction of Washington law. The Arizona Supreme Court explained that insurance protects against reasonably foreseeable risks that are not known to be certain. Adopting an objective test would undermine that purpose and the parties’ freedom of contract. The Court also noted that a majority of other jurisdictions have adopted a similar subjective standard.
On this basis, the Arizona Supreme Court answered the Ninth Circuit’s certified question as follows: “A loss is non-fortuitous only when the insured knew, at the time coverage attached, that the loss-causing event had already occurred, was already in progress, or was certain to occur because no material contingency remained between the facts known to the insured and the loss-causing event.”
The Ninth Circuit Remands for Further Coverage Analysis
Following the Arizona Supreme Court’s decision, the Ninth Circuit vacated summary judgment for Great Northern on the breach of contract claim and remanded the case back to the district court for analysis consistent with the new definition of fortuity under Arizona law. The Ninth Circuit also vacated the denial of Mainspring’s summary judgment motion and summary judgment for Great Northern on bad faith. The district court had not determined whether the wear-and-tear and settling exclusions applied or whether reliance on those exclusions was reasonable.
- Associate
Wendy Tsang is a litigator with experience in class actions. She has participated in all stages of the litigation process, from drafting pleadings and motion practice to handling all aspects of discovery including interviewing and ...
Search Blog
Recent Posts
- Arizona Supreme Court Clarifies Fortuitous Loss Standard; Ninth Circuit Remands Coverage Dispute
- Court Finds “And/Or” Phrasing of Exclusion Ambiguous and Rules for Policyholder
- Eighth Circuit Holds That a 21-Day Reporting Condition Precedent Defeats Pollution Exclusion’s Exception
- Manhattan Appellate Court Rules That D&O Policy’s Prior Acts Exclusion Does Not Warrant Complete Denial of Coverage Unless All Causes of Action Arise Out of Excluded Acts
- Second Circuit Rules that CGL Insurer Must Provide Defense Coverage for PFAS-Related Environmental Claim
- Delaware Supreme Court Holds That D&O Policy’s “Bump-Up” Provision Does Not Exclude Coverage for $28 Million Post-Merger Securities Settlement
- Federal District Court in Washington State Rules That Insurer Acted in Bad Faith By Denying Defense Coverage Based On “Arguable” Interpretation of the Policy
- Ninth Circuit Rules Insurer Acted in Bad Faith by Denying Insured a Defense Where “A Conceivable Basis for Coverage Existed”
- Experts Are Bracing for a “Brutal” Wildfire Season—Now is the Time for Utility Companies and Other Business with Exposure to Wildfire Liabilities to Stress-Test Their Insurance Programs
- Canons of Construction: Divided Panel of the Second Circuit Holds General Contractor Entitled to Additional Insured Coverage Under Subcontractor’s CGL Policy
Popular Categories
- Insurance Coverage
- Policy Exclusions
- CGL Policies
- D&O Policies
- Pollution Exclusion
- Additional Insured Endorsement
- Construction
- Duty to Defend
- Related Claims
- E&O Policies
- Notice
- Damages
- Occurrence/Accident
- Business Interruption Coverage
- Bad Faith Claims Handling
- Indemnification and Advancement
- Rules of Interpretation
- COVID-19
- Cyber Coverage
- Duty to Cooperate
- Advertising Injury
- Personal and Advertising Injury
- Insurance Brokers
- Confict of Laws
- Discovery/Disclosure
- Appraisal
- Attorney Fees
- Excess Insurance
- Assignment of Claims
- Covered Loss
- Disability discrimination
- Implied Covenant of Good Faith and Fair Dealing
- Privilege/Work Product
- Priority of Coverage
- Contracts
- Intellectual Property
- Professional Malpractice
- Rescission
- Intervention/Joinder
- Settlements
- Subrogation
- General Business Law
- Unfair Claims Settlement Practices
Archives
- November 2026
- October 2026
- June 2026
- May 2026
- April 2026
- March 2026
- February 2026
- January 2026
- December 2025
- November 2025
- October 2025
- September 2025
- May 2025
- February 2025
- December 2024
- November 2024
- August 2024
- July 2024
- June 2024
- May 2024
- April 2024
- March 2024
- February 2024
- January 2024
- December 2023
- November 2023
- September 2023
- August 2023
- June 2023
- May 2023
- April 2023
- March 2023
- January 2023
- December 2022
- September 2022
- May 2022
- April 2022
- March 2022
- November 2021
- June 2021
- February 2021
- January 2021
- December 2020
- November 2020
- October 2020
- September 2020
- August 2020
- April 2020
- March 2020
- February 2020
- January 2020
- December 2019
- November 2019
- October 2019
- September 2019
- August 2019
- July 2019
- May 2019
- April 2019
- March 2019
- February 2019
- January 2019
- December 2018
- November 2018
- October 2018
- September 2018
- August 2018
- July 2018
- May 2018
- April 2018
- March 2018
- February 2018
- January 2018

